Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar la experiencia de navegación y ofrecer contenidos y servicios de interés.
Al continuar con la navegación, entendemos que se acepta nuestra política de cookies.


Twinning agreement: 1977.

General Information

Country: Estados Unidos bandera EEUU
State: Nuevo México bandera Nuevo México
County: Bernalillo
Founded: 1706
Elevation: 1.619,1 msnm
Population: 494.236
Density: 958,9 hab/km²
Time area: MST (UTC-7)
Coordinates: 35º 06´39´´N, 106º 36´36´´O
Website: Página Web de la ciudad de Albuquerque

Albuquerque is the largest city of the state of New Mexico, in the southwest of the USA. It was founded in 1706 by the Spanish colonists and still keeps some aspects of Spanish cultural and historical heritage.

The town was named after the Duke of Albuquerque, Don Francisco Fernández de la Cueva, viceroy of New Spain from 1653 to 1660. The first 'r' was dropped making it easier to pronounce for Anglo-American speakers.

It was originally a farming community and a strategic location along Camino Real. The town was built around a central square surrounded by government buildings, houses and a church. This old town has been preserved and, nowadays, serves as a museum and a cultural and commercial center.